My First Design

While laying flat on my back last weekend with sciatic nerve pain I accomplished a lot including my first design.  Little Swerve ModeledLittle Swerve Modeled2Swerve Flat

I did this design for my husband.  It seems like there are so many women’s socks so when I took Cookie A’s sock design class I decided to do something for my husband that had some interest to it.  So these are cabled socks that swerve back and forth.  The yarn is in his favorite colors.  The pattern size fits a medium male foot, hubby is a 9.5.

Here is a PDF of the pattern, if you have any feedback or questions just mail me.  My email address is in the pattern. 

Pattern: http://cid-2d449d060e15c48f.office.live.com/self.aspx/Knitting%20Patterns/Little%20bit%20of%20Swerve%20Sock.pdf

 

I also started and finished Simmer Dim by Gudrun Johnson. 

Simmer DimSimmer Dim DetailSimmer Dim Detail2

5 responses to “My First Design

  1. Great looking socks. Thanks for the pattern.

  2. Wow…love the pattern..Thank you !
    Best wishes to you from Germany
    Patricia

  3. This is lovely, you do beautiful work. When I click on the link, all I get is a jpeg of the shawl. Is there a link to the pattern?

  4. hi! I was just wondering- I’m trying to make your socks, and I am confused by row 11 since it has 11 stitches instead of 9, yet there are no increases. How do you work row 11 eight times without running out of stitches in the row?

    • Hi Jeremy,

      Row 11 has the same number of stitches as the others. The funny thing about this row is that the last stich of the 9 stitches is cabled with the 1st stich of the next 9 stitches. So the 1st and 9th stiches are shown twice at the beginning and end of the repeat but should only be worked once.

      Written out the 11th row is: Slip 1st stich as you will work it when you work the last repeat, P1, YO, P3, SSK, P1, Slip knit stich to cable needle, purl, knit
      through the back loop the stitch off the cable needle (Knit stich is the 9th stich in the repeat and the purl is the 1st stich in the repeat)

      Hope that helps Jeremy. If you need any other help feel free to mail me at kerrybethws@hotmail.com.

Leave a comment